Content - Interdisciplinary competencies

How our multidisciplinary competencies developed. Established in 1889 as a woodworking shop, over subsequent decades Girsberger made its name as a manufacturer of seating solutions. In addition to growing internationally, the company expanded by focussing on market niches. The move into dining furniture collections went hand in hand with the development of greater expertise in working with solid wood and also the establishment of the company's own wood trading business. After this the Customized Furniture and Remanufacturing business units were set up. The family-owned company is managed today by Michael Girsberger, who is the great-grandson of the company's founder. With production locations in Switzerland, Germany, Serbia and Turkey, Girsberger has a high degree of versatility in production, which guarantees that we can provide durable, high-quality products produced in a socially responsible and environmentally sound way.

Our Customized Furniture business unit draws on the wealth of experience gathered over the many years the company has been in existence and combines excellent craftsmanship with ultra-modern technology. Our employees are experts in industrial design, construction, solid wood processing, metalworking and upholstery. With the help of our multidisciplinary manufacturing sites we offer everything from a single source – drawing where necessary on the support of highly specialized partner companies. 

We have the following key competencies:


- Construction
- Building of models and prototypes
- Testing of functionality and conformity with standards
- Evaluation of materials

Construction. Our project managers are experts in bespoke furniture solutions. They design and develop, build prototypes and oversee the project from start to finish. We have a pool of eight development specialists in total, meaning we are always able to choose the right manager for your project.

Building of models and prototypes. A prototype can be much more informative than a drawing. Our model builders are able to create design models and prototypes on request, thus enabling our clients to check the optical appearance, proportions, tactile sensation, function and comfort of their furniture designs. Our models also enable further requirements to be determined and details optimized, so that before production begins you can be certain that the final result will meet your requirements in full.

Testing of functionality and conformity with standards. Seating in public and commercial spaces in particular has to be designed to cope with regular use and a high degree of wear and tear. Just as we do for our mass-produced ranges, if necessary we can test the safety and durability of customized furniture in our test laboratory according to valid EN standards so you can rest assured that your product will withstand the stresses of daily use.

Evaluation of materials. We evaluate the materials you have chosen to determine their suitability and we organize samples of materials. As we have an extensive range of materials, we are often able to suggest further options, thus providing the best possible selection for your project.



- Carpentry
- Metal construction
- Upholstery
- Surface finishing
- Specialist partners


Carpentry. The processing of solid wood is one of our core competencies. As well as this expertise in processing solid wood, we are also able to procure, correctly store and dry out the timber. We have our own solid wood warehouse measuring 3,500 m³ and containing a range of fine European woods of a consistently high quality. Handpicked and sawn timber is carefully air-dried for between one and three years here, with several air flow chambers and vacuum chambers used to dry the wood so it contains the right level of moisture.

Metalworking. As we have our own in-house metalworking workshops, metal parts can be crafted quickly and easily to fit with other carpentry or upholstery components. The workshops can undertake all the necessary processes including welding, bending, grinding, polishing and many more.

Upholstery. As we also mass produce furniture, we have our own high-performance upholstery department. We know what stresses furniture in public and commercial areas undergoes, so we take your furniture design and create high-quality upholstery for you by sandwiching together different foam types, thus ensuring the seating remains extremely comfortable for many years.

Surface finishing. We use only the highest quality paints and oils. If our standard furniture paint is not appropriate or you have a specific requirement, we work with our suppliers to develop a suitable surface finish. In this way we achieve not just the desired look and feel, but also the required robustness and abrasion resistance.

Specialist partners. We can undertake many tasks ourselves in our workshops – but not all. For this reason we have built up a network of highly specialized partners, who we involve in our projects as required. We always maintain overall responsibility and coordinate all work, so for you everything is supplied and assembled by a single source.



- Delivery and assembly


Delivery and assembly. To ensure that the furniture we have developed together ends up in the right place and is put together correctly we also offer a delivery and assembly service. We can organize specialist transport on request and will attend the site in person. From your first idea to the final placement of the furniture, we are with you all the way.

Inhalt - Interdisziplinäre Kompetenzen

Ursprung unserer interdisziplinären Kompetenzen. Girsberger, 1889 als Drechslerei gegründet, entwickelte sich im Laufe der Jahrzehnte zu einem namhaften Sitzmöbelhersteller. Neben dem internationalen Wachstum erfolgte der unternehmerische Ausbau über eine Fokussierung auf Marktnischen. Mit der Möbelkollektion Dining geht die Weiterentwicklung der Massivholzkompetenz und damit in Verbindung ein eigener Holzhandel einher. Daraufhin folgten die Geschäftsbereiche Customized Furniture und Remanufacturing. Das Unternehmen in Familienbesitz wird in 4. Generation von Michael Girsberger geführt. Mit Produktionsstandorten in der Schweiz, in Deutschland, in Serbien und in der Türkei verfügt Girsberger über eine sehr hohe Fertigungstiefe. Damit bürgen wir für langlebige Produkte von hoher Qualität, bei garantiert sozialgerechter und umweltschonender Produktionsweise.

Mit Customized Furniture bauen wir auf allen im Laufe der Firmengeschichte gesammelten Erfahrungen auf. Handwerkliche Fähigkeiten kombinieren wir mit modernster Fertigungstechnologie. Unsere Mitarbeitenden sind Experten aus Industriedesign, Konstruktion, Massivholzverarbeitung, Metallverarbeitung sowie Polstertechnik. Mithilfe unserer interdisziplinären Manufakturen bieten wir – gegebenenfalls unterstützt durch hochspezialisierte Partnerunternehmen – alles aus einer Hand. 


Wir verfügen über folgende Kernkompetenzen:

Engineering

- Konstruktion
- Modell- und Prototypenbau
- Funktions- und Normenprüfung
- Materialevaluation

Konstruktion. Unsere Projektleiter sind Experten für massgefertigte Möbellösungen. Sie konstruieren und entwickeln, bauen Prototypen und begleiten das Projekt bis zum Schluss. Aus einem Pool von insgesamt acht Entwicklungsspezialisten können jederzeit entsprechend qualifizierte Projektleiter einbezogen werden.

Modell- und Prototypenbau. Ein Prototyp sagt mehr als eine Zeichnung. In unserem eigenen Modellbau realisieren wir auf Wunsch Designmodelle und Prototypen. Damit können Optik, Proportionen, Haptik, Funktion oder auch der Sitzkomfort überprüft werden. Auch können dadurch weitere Anforderungen erkannt und die Details optimiert werden. Somit haben Sie vor Produktionsbeginn die Gewissheit, dass das Endresultat vollumfänglich Ihren Anforderungen entsprechen wird.

Funktions- und Normenprüfung. Insbesondere bei Sitzmöbeln im Objekteinsatz muss von hohen Belastungen und regelmässiger Nutzung ausgegangen werden. Auch bei massgefertigten Möbeln prüfen wir, falls angebracht, Sicherheit und Dauerfestigkeit in unserem eigenen Prüflabor in Anlehnung an gültige EN Vorgaben. Somit können Sie sicher sein, dass sich Ihr Produkt im täglichen Gebrauch bewähren wird.

Materialevaluation. Abgestimmt auf Ihre Vorgaben evaluieren wir die gewünschten und geeigneten Materialien und organisieren die Materialmuster. Oft können wir aufgrund unseres umfangreichen Materialsortiments weitere Varianten vorschlagen und somit die beste Auswahl für Ihr Projekt anbieten.

Engineering

Produktion

- Schreinerei
- Metallbau
- Polsterei
- Oberflächenveredelung
- Spezialisierte Partner

 

Schreinerei. Die Verarbeitung von Massivholz gehört zu unseren Kernkompetenzen. Neben der Verarbeitungskompetenz zählen auch die Möglichkeit der Beschaffung, fachgerechte Lagerung und Trocknung dazu. Wir verfügen über ein eigenes Massivholzlager von 3ʼ500 m³. Das Sortiment an europäischen Edelhölzern zeichnet sich durch eine konstant hohe Qualität aus. Handverlesenes Schnittholz wird in unserem Holzlager ein bis drei Jahre lang schonend an der Luft getrocknet. Danach stehen mehrere Umluft- und Vakuumkammern zur Verfügung, um das Holz auf die richtige Anwendungsfeuchte zu bringen.

Metallbau. Metallteile können dank des hauseigenen Metallbaus rasch und unkompliziert auf andere dazugehörige Komponenten aus unserer Schreinerei oder Polsterei abgestimmt werden. Alle Arbeitsschritte – Schweissen, Biegen, Schleifen, Polieren und vieles mehr – erfolgen in unseren Werkstätten.

Polsterei. Aufgrund unserer Serienproduktion verfügen wir über eine eigene leistungsfähige Polsterei. Da wir die Belastungen im Objekt bestens kennen, entwickeln wir, jeweils auf Ihre Möbelidee abgestimmt, eine hochwertige Polsterung im Sandwichaufbau mit unterschiedlichen Schaumstoffhärten. Dies sorgt für einen langjährigen, hohen Sitzkomfort.

Oberflächenveredelung. Wir verarbeiten ausschliesslich hochwertigste Lacke und Öle. Wenn der Standardlack für unsere Möbel nicht ausreicht oder der Kunde eine besondere Anforderung hat, entwickeln wir zusammen mit unseren Lieferanten die geeignete Oberflächenveredelung. So erzielen wir letztendlich die gewünschte Optik und Haptik aber auch die erforderliche Robustheit und Abriebfestigkeit.

Spezialisierte Partner. Vieles können wir selbst in unseren Werkstätten realisieren – aber nicht alles. Dementsprechend haben wir ein Netzwerk hochspezialisierter Partner aufgebaut. Diese Partner beziehen wir bei Bedarf mit ein. In jedem Fall verbleibt die Gesamtverantwortung bei uns und wir koordinieren alle Arbeiten. Schlussendlich bekommen Sie alles aus einer Hand von uns geliefert und montiert.

Produktion

Service

- Lieferung und Montage

 

Lieferung und Montage. Damit das gemeinsam entwickelte Möbel am Ende korrekt und am richtigen Ort steht, können wir auch Lieferung und Montage übernehmen. Wir organisieren bei Bedarf einen Sondertransport und sind persönlich vor Ort. Von der Idee bis zur finalen Platzierung vor Ort bleiben wir Ihr Ansprechspartner.

Service