Content - History: Tradition, progress, Girsberger

No progress without tradition. Since 1889, when Johann Heinrich Girsberger set up a woodworking shop in Zurich, our name has been closely associated with the history of seating. We can look back with pride at a long tradition. And what began with the first patent, the Type 111 swivel chair, became the basis for many subsequent developments. The guiding principles throughout: functionality and practicality, precise manufacture in the tradition of manual craftsmanship, authenticity of materials and durability. These cornerstones remain in place to this day and characterise every one of our products, even if much has changed over the past 125 years. Our origins form a good basis for the future. Our determination always to seek new ways of doing things, question existing practices and leave no stone unturned in the quest to better our products has made Girsberger into a highly respected company in the sector.

 

Although not yet 23 years old, Johann Heinrich Girsberger invests all his savings in setting up the «Drechslerei Heinrich Girsberger», a turner‘s workshop in the Weinberg area of Zurich. There he produces turnery ware such as embroidery frames, wooden bowls and lampstands. The children‘s hospital of the city of Zurich now stands where the «Weinberg» quarter was formerly located.

Heinrich Girsberger signs the lease for a larger workshop and installs his first steam-driven lathe.

The company expands for the second time: a building is purchased on Neptunstrasse in Zurich-Hottingen.

Production of the first seating furniture, height-adjustable piano stools, begins.

The first patent: a proprietary mechanism which allows the seat‘s height to be quickly and infinitely adjusted by simple operating means. Production of the first model series with this mechanism (swivel chair type no. 111) lasts over 60 years, i.e. until 1970.

The building on Neptunstrasse is sold, to be replaced by larger premises on Hottingerstrasse in Zurich, comprising workshops and a residential house.

Following the early death of the founder, Heinrich Girsberger, his son Wilhelm takes over the management of the company. The company is renamed «Wilhelm Girsberger, Mechanische Drechslerei und Stuhlfabrik» (Wilhelm Girsberger, Mechanical Turnery and Chair Factory).

The effects of the global economic crisis and the Second World War are also felt in Switzerland, especially in an economic sense: thrift and attempts to secure orders characterize daily life. Any money saved is invested in the development of new products. Clear and simple shapes, inspired by the Bauhaus designs, and ergonomically oriented functions become increasingly important.

Model 486

An office swivel chair made of solid beechwood with infinite height adjustment and shock-absorbing seat suspension.

A new factory building on Tramstrasse in Zurich-Schwamendingen: New machinery in well-lit production facilities provides a modern environment and conditions for series production.

Model 3001

This very robust and versatile chair, a resilient construction of steam-bent wood, is a two-colour model: Natural wood/black or natural wood/red.

Death of Wilhelm Girsberger.
A brief review of his working life in difficult times: as a young man, Wilhelm Girsberger did military service throughout both the First World War (1914-1918) and the Second World War (1939-1945). In spite of these obstacles and the global economic crisis, Wilhelm Girsberger continued to develop the company. During his long periods of military service, he was able to rely on the dedicated support of his wife, Rosa Girsberger-Pfister, and the strong sense of duty of loyal employees. Wilhelm Girsberger was also President of the Swiss Association of Master Turners over a period of several years..

After Wilhelm Girsberger‘s death, his heirs take over the company and convert it into a limited partnership under the name of «Girsberger Co. Stuhl und Tischfabrik» (Girsberger Co. Chair and Table Factory). The unlimited partners are Wilhelm Girsberger (born 1927), Heinrich Girsberger (born 1929) and Magdalena Girsberger (born 1931). Rosa Girsberger-Pfister, widow of the deceased, is a limited partner.

Model 71

Design: Ero Saarinen

The primary design feature of this chair is its non-flexible backrest which is made from pressed wood fibre. Manufactured and distributed under licence from Knoll, USA.

The city of Zurich continues to grow. A shortage of space and high prices for building land make it impossible to expand the business in Zurich-Schwamendingen. An unconventional search for inexpensive industrial land with good traffic access ends in Thunstetten-Bützberg, a municipality in the canton of Berne. After a construction and installation period of only five months, the whole business is transferred from Zurich to Bützberg. Almost all the employees follow the company to the canton of Berne.

The continuous expansion of the production site in Bützberg begins with the first structural extension.

Girsberger, Bützberg (The picture shows the location in the year 2000)

Model 4050

Design: Benedikt Rohner

The main characteristics of this three-legged armchair are its veneered wood shell and the curved framework of flat steel, thermolacquered in black or chromium.

Double-shell chair

Design: Jürg Bally

A glue-laminated plywood shell, formed under high pressure and finished with an exclusive surface veneer.

Model 9052

Chromed rectangular steel tube. Framework and backrest in wood, upholstered.

The first subsidiary in a foreign country: The incorporation of Girsberger GmbH in Endingen am Kaiserstuhl, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany. A modest beginning: Four employees work together in an older building to produce office and conference chairs as well as lounge suites for reception areas.

The product range is significantly expanded, and standardized layouts for documentation give the company a new image.

In Germany, the company buys industrial land from the town of Endingen and builds a modern factory, starting with a production and warehouse space of 1,300 m2. This production location will undergo continuous expansion in subsequent years.

Model 5600

Design: Fritz Makiol

Revolutionary design, construction and material concept: The first office swivel chair on the market with the whole load-bearing structure made of steel, die-cast aluminium and die-cast plastic components. A single lever is used for the infinite adjustment of both seat height and backrest tilt.

Model 3700

Design: Fritz Makiol

Plastic framework at the sides. Steel tubes are used for the chair‘s legs and crossbars. The seat and backrest are made of shaped plywood. Compression moulding attaches the plastic parts to the steel tubes, thus eliminating screws and glue and shortening assembly time. The 3700 model range is still sold today, thanks to its robustness and a later redesign of timeless character.

A giant step across the Atlantic: The foundation of Girsberger Industries Inc. in Smithfield, North Carolina, USA. Production begins with only eight employees working in a rented factory building (see picture). In 1981 this still-new subsidiary buys the land and building. In the following years, the American production location will undergo continuous expansion.

Trilax

Design: Fritz Makiol

A new, internationally patented triple-joint movement technology. The only office swivel chair in the world with supporting structures made of GMT (glass mat thermoplastic) connecting the seat, lumbar and backrest .
Trilax was an important part of the Girsberger product range for 29 years.

Model 9500

Design: Dieter Stierli

The first cantilever chair for the residential furniture sector, made of steel tubes and with belt-supported upholstery. The 9500 model series chairs are still successful visitor and conference chairs for the office sector.

100 years of Girsberger
Wilhelm Girsberger and Heinrich Girsberger

The newly incorporated Tuna Girsberger Tic. AS in Istanbul, Turkey provides the third production location. Girsberger Holding AG holds 50% of the shares, the other 50% are in the hands of the Tuna families. The company manufactures almost all the office chairs in the Girsberger product range. Additional model series are developed and produced for the Turkish and Gulf region markets, distribution is handled by the TunaOfis company. The factory is in Silivri, with sale and showroom centres in Istanbul and Ankara.

A new building for Girsberger GmbH in Endingen, Germany. Built 500 metres to the north of the company‘s original location and comprising production, warehouse, showroom and administration. The necessary industrial land is acquired from the town of Endingen.

A change of generation: For over 40 years and with a great sense of responsibility and commitment, Heinrich and Wilhelm Girsberger have guided the company along the path to success. Michael Girsberger, who has worked abroad for 16 years – 14 of which for a large and globally active industrial conglomerate – becomes CEO of Girsberger Holding AG and assumes responsibility for the management of the group of companies. Wilhelm and Heinrich Girsberger continue as members of the Board of Directors of Girsberger Holding AG for several more years.

Balzaro

Design: Kurt Müller

The first Girsberger chair with a frame of stainless steel and a shell of core leather.

The product ranges for residential and office furniture are streamlined. The Home and Office divisions are inaugurated, with new objectives.
Production in Switzerland, especially the processing of solid wood, metal and surfaces, is increased considerably in order to promote the successful development of the Home division.
Order-related production for the Office division is centred in the factories in Germany, the USA and Turkey.
In spite of these organizational changes, including the cross-border relocation of production and logistics, no jobs are lost.

A new building with reception area, showroom, product development and administration. This building puts its mark on the company location in Bützberg. During the same year, the company acquires a new image under the «Girsberger seating» trademark.

Permesso

Design: Kurt Müller

The traditional dining room bench reinterpreted. Strikingly reduced to the essentials, and with structural simplicity.

Franz

Design: Kurt Müller

A new technique for extendable tables whereby, for the first time ever, the two leg pairs of a solid wood table can be drawn apart to extend the length of the table. The table can be lengthened by up to one metre in this way. The extension leaves are stored directly under the tabletop for easy handling.

The third business area is created with Girsberger Customized Solutions (now Customized Furniture). The high percentage of production work carried out in-house and the resulting flexibility enable Girsberger to produce customized furniture to the specific requirements of architects for conference and training rooms and for catering and lounge areas.

Customer Service becomes Service & Remanufacturing (now just Remanufacturing) – Girsberger's fourth area of activity. The focus is on economic and environmental aspects: office chairs and furniture should not be simply thrown away and replaced, but remain in use for longer with professional servicing and full restoration.

Reflex

Design: Dieter Stierli

The new and internationally patented backrest uses the characteristics of its materials to support and relieve the user‘s back in exactly the right places. Reflex and its matching visitor chair Connexion attract the attention of a wide audience. Reflex receives the Red Dot Design Award.

The existing subsidiaries with showroom centres in Vienna, Paris, Amsterdam and London are completely redesigned by the architect Dante Bonuccelli. With the exception of Paris, this involved larger premises in new locations. Additional Girsberger offices with showrooms were opened in Madrid and Hamburg.

The Home business area is renamed Girsberger Dining. This name illustrates the range's focus on the dining area of the home. The Dining collection comprises tables, chairs and sideboards, most of which are made of solid wood.

Modell 1600

Girsberger in-house design 1961

New edition of the successful model from 1963.

The Modell 1600 captured the spirit of the times in the 1960s and was a great success. The original chairs, some of which can still be found for instance in Germany's Federal Constitutional Court in Karlsruhe, are today selling as modern classics.

 

Girsberger Solid Wood becomes the fifth area of business. Girsberger manages timber stores in Bützberg and Koblenz with a total of 3,500 cubic metres of carefully dried wood from larch, oak, elm, walnut and cherry trees. From these stores, Girsberger supplies carpentry businesses with high-quality solid wood from all over Europe.

Camiro

Design: Martin Ballendat

Girsberger launches a new line of swivel chairs that accommodates new ways of organizing offices. Camiro has been specially designed for flexible workplaces, where several employees use the same chair. The functional swivel chair therefore has automatic spring tension adjustment in the backrest.

G 125

Design: Mathias Seiler

To celebrate the 125th anniversary of the company's foundation, Girsberger presents a new kind of wooden swivel chair. The G 125 evokes the early days of the company, when Girsberger made a name for itself as a specialist for chairs with its height-adjustable piano stools. The G 125 was crowned Best of the Best at the Red Dot Award 2015.

Customized Furniture is increasingly becoming a business area with great potential. Here, Girsberger implements the designs of architects and planners according to their individual ideas. This provides clients with a wide range of design options in terms of corporate branding, in their search for special technical solutions or when implementing unusual formats.

Model 111

In-house design 1910

This workshop stool, which dates back to 1910, is now being relaunched. It is a landmark design in Girsberger’s history, as a patent for the height-adjustment mechanism from that time documents this key milestone in the company’s evolution from a woodturner's workshop to a chair manufacturer.

Inhalt - History: Tradition, Fortschritt, Girsberger

Ohne Tradition kein Fortschritt. Seit 1889, seit der Gründung der Drechslerei Heinrich Girsberger in Zürich, ist unser Name eng mit der Entwicklungsgeschichte des Sitzens verknüpft. Mit Stolz blicken wir auf eine lange Tradition zurück. Und was mit dem ersten Patent, dem Drehstuhl Typ 111, begann, war die Basis für viele nachfolgende Entwicklungen. Der Leitgedanke: Funktionalität mit hohem praktischem Nutzen, präzise Fertigung in handwerklicher Tradition sowie Materialehrlichkeit und Beständigkeit. Diese Eckpunkte bestehen bis heute und prägen jedes unserer Produkte, auch wenn sich vieles in den vergangenen 125 Jahren verändert hat. Unsere Herkunft ist eine gute Basis für die Zukunft. Unser Anspruch, immer wieder neue Wege zu suchen, Bestehendes zu hinterfragen und nichts unbeachtet zu lassen, um das Bessere zu finden, hat Girsberger zu einem geachteten Unternehmen der Branche gemacht.

 

Noch keine 23 Jahre alt, investiert Johann Heinrich Girsberger seine gesamten Ersparnisse in die Gründung der «Drechslerei Heinrich Girsberger» am Weinberg in Zürich. Der damalige «Weinberg» befand sich am heutigen Standort des Kinderspitals der Stadt Zürich. Gefertigt wurden Drechslerwaren wie beispielsweise Stickrahmen, Holzschalen, Ständer für Tischleuchten.

Heinrich Girsberger mietet eine grössere Werkstatt und installiert seine erste Drehbank mit Dampfantrieb.

Zweite Werkstattvergrösserung: Erwerb einer Immobilie an der Neptunstrasse in Zürich-Hottingen.

Mit höhenverstellbaren Pianostühlen beginnt die Fertigung der ersten Sitzmöbel.

Erstes Patent: Eine selbständig entwickelte Mechanik ermöglicht die schnelle und stufenlose Höhenverstellung mit einfachster Bedienung. Die erste mit dieser Mechanik versehene Modellreihe (Drehstuhl Typ 111) wird während 60 Jahren bzw. bis 1970 produziert.

Verkauf der Immobilie an der Neptunstrasse zum Erwerb von grösseren Gebäuden an der Hottingerstrasse in Zürich, bestehend aus Werkstätten und einem Wohnhaus.

Nach dem frühen Tod des Gründers, Heinrich Girsberger, übernimmt sein Sohn Wilhelm die Geschäftsführung. Es entsteht die neue Firmenbezeichnung «Wilhelm Girsberger, Mechanische Drechslerei und Stuhlfabrik».

Weltwirtschaftskrise und die Auswirkungen des Zweiten Weltkrieges sind auch in der Schweiz vor allem wirtschaftlich spürbar: Anstrengungen, um Aufträge zu sichern, und Sparsamkeit prägen den Alltag. Das ersparte Geld wird in die Entwicklung neuer Produkte investiert: Inspiriert von «Bauhaus» gewinnen einfache, klare Formen sowie Ergonomie-orientierte Funktionen an Bedeutung.

Modell 486

Bürodrehstuhl in massivem Buchenholz. Stufenlose, abgefederte Höhenverstellung.

Fabrikneubau an der Tramstrasse in Zürich-Schwamendingen: Mit modernem Maschinenpark in hellen Produktionsräumen werden fortschrittliche Bedingungen für die Serienproduktion geschaffen.

Modell 3001

Dampfgebogene Konstruktion und hoch belastbar. Dieser äusserst robuste und vielseitig einsetzbare Stuhl ist mit zweifarbigen Oberflächen lieferbar: hell natur/schwarz oder hell natur/rot.

Tod von Wilhelm Girsberger.
Ein Rückblick auf sein Berufsleben in nicht einfacher Zeit: Als junger Mann hatte Wilhelm Girsberger während des Ersten Weltkriegs (1914–1918) und später während des Zweiten Weltkriegs (1939–1945) bzw. über die Gesamtdauer beider Weltkriege Militärdienst geleistet. Trotz diesen Erschwernissen und der Weltwirtschaftskrise gelang Wilhelm Girsberger die kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung des Unternehmens. Während seiner langen Militärdienstzeit konnte er sich auf die engagierte Unterstützung seiner Ehefrau, Rosa Girsberger-Pfister, und das Pflichtbewusstsein treuer Mitarbeiter verlassen. Über mehrere Jahre hinweg war Wilhelm Girsberger zudem Zentralpräsident des Schweizerischen Drechslermeisterverbandes.

Nach dem Ableben von Wilhelm Girsberger wird die Firma durch seine Erben übernommen und in die Kommanditgesellschaft «Girsberger Co. Stuhl und Tischfabrik» umgewandelt. Komplementäre sind Wilhelm Girsberger (geb. 1927), Heinrich Girsberger (geb. 1929) und Magdalena Girsberger (geb. 1931), Kommanditärin ist Frau Rosa Girsberger-Pfister, Witwe des Verstorbenen.

Modell 71

Design: Ero Saarinen

Das konstruktive Hauptmerkmal des Stuhls ist die aus gepresstem Holzfaser-Material bestehende, nicht flexible Rückenlehne. Herstellung und Vertrieb unter Lizenz von Knoll, USA.

Die Stadt Zürich dehnt sich aus. Der Betrieb in Zürich-Schwamendingen kann auf Grund von Platzmangel und teuren Landpreisen nicht erweitert werden. Die unkonventionelle Suche nach verkehrstechnisch gutem und preisgünstigem Industrieland findet ihren Abschluss in der Gemeinde Thunstetten-Bützberg, Kanton Bern. Nach nur fünf Monaten Bau- und Einrichtungszeit wird der gesamte Betrieb von Zürich nach Bützberg verlagert. Fast alle Mitarbeitenden folgen dem Unternehmen in den Kanton Bern.

Mit der ersten baulichen Erweiterung beginnt der kontinuierliche Ausbau des Fertigungsstandortes Bützberg.

Girsberger, Bützberg (Aufnahme aus dem Jahr 2000)

Modell 4050

Design: Benedikt Rohner

Hauptmerkmale dieses dreibeinigen Fauteuils bilden die furnierte Holzschale und das gebogene Gestell in Flacheisen, schwarz thermolackiert oder verchromt.

Doppelschalenstuhl

Design: Jürg Bally

Unter hohem Druck gepresste, schichtverleimte Sperrholzschale mit exklusiven Deckfurnieren.

Modell 9052

4-Kant-Stahlrohr verchromt. Zargen und Rückenteile aus Holz, gepolstert.

Erster Betrieb im Ausland: Gründung der Girsberger GmbH in Endingen am Kaiserstuhl, Baden-Württemberg, Deutschland. Die Anfänge sind bescheiden: In einer älteren Immobilie fertigen vier Mitarbeitende Büro- und Konferenzstühle sowie Sitzgruppen für den Empfangsbereich.

Das Produktsortiment wird massgeblich erweitert, das Erscheinungsbild mit einheitlich gestalteten Drucksachen erneuert.

In Deutschland wird von der Stadt Endingen Industrieland erworben und ein moderner Fabrikbau mit anfänglich 1300 m2 Produktions- und Lagerfläche erstellt. In den nachfolgenden Jahren wird dieses Produktionsgelände kontinuierlich ausgebaut.

Modell 5600

Design: Fritz Makiol

Revolutionär in Design, Konstruktion und im Materialkonzept: Der erste Bürodrehstuhl auf dem Markt mit tragenden Bauteilen ausschliesslich aus Stahl, Aluminiumdruckguss- und Kunststoffspritzgusskomponenten. Verstellung der Sitzhöhe und Neigung der Rückenlehne erfolgen beide stufenlos, mit nur einem Bedienungshebel.

Modell 3700

Design: Fritz Makiol

Seitenzargen aus Kunststoff. Stuhlbeine und Traversen aus Stahlrohr. Sitz und Rücken aus Formsperrholz. Die Stahlrohre werden durch einen Pressvorgang mit den Kunststoffelementen verbunden. Dadurch entfallen Schrauben und Klebstoffe bei kürzester Montagezeit. Dank ihrer Robustheit und einem späteren, zeitlosen Re-Design wird die Modellreihe 3700 noch heute verkauft.

Schritt über den Atlantik: Gründung der Girsberger Industries Inc. in Smithfield, North Carolina, USA. Bei Produktionsbeginn arbeiten nur 8 Mitarbeitende in einem vorerst angemieteten Fabrikgebäude (siehe Bild). 1981 erwirbt die noch junge Tochtergesellschaft Land und Gebäude. In den darauf folgenden Jahren wird der amerikanische Produktionsstandort laufend erweitert.

Trilax

Design: Fritz Makiol

Neuartige, international patentierte 3-Punkt-Bewegungstechnologie. Der weltweit einzige Bürodrehstuhl mit tragenden und miteinander verbundenen Sitz-, Lumbal- und Rückenteilen aus GMT (glasfaserverstärkter Thermoplast). Trilax war 29 Jahre lang ein wichtiger Bestandteil des Girsberger Produktsortiments.

Modell 9500

Design: Dieter Stierli

Erster Stahlrohrfreischwinger für den Wohnbereich mit Gurtenpolsterung. Die Modellreihe 9500 bewährt sich bis heute auch als Besucher- und Konferenzstuhl im Bürobereich.

100 Jahre Girsberger
Wilhelm Girsberger und Heinrich Girsberger

Dritter Produktionsstandort durch die Gründung der Tuna Girsberger Tic. AS in Istanbul, Türkei. Die Girsberger Holding AG hält 50% der Aktien, die anderen 50% befinden sich im Besitz der Familien Tuna. Das Unternehmen produziert fast alle Bürositzmöbel aus dem Girsberger Produktprogramm. Ergänzend werden speziell für die Türkei und die Golfregion entwickelte Modellreihen hergestellt und durch TunaOfis vertrieben. Der Produktionsstandort befindet sich in Silivri, die Verkaufs- und Ausstellungszentren in Istanbul und Ankara.

Neubau der Girsberger GmbH in Endingen, Deutschland. 500 Meter nördlich vom bisherigen Standort wird ein Neubau für Produktion, Lager, Ausstellung und Verwaltung erstellt. Das erforderliche Industrieland wird von der Stadt Endingen erworben.

Generationenwechsel: Gemeinsam haben Heinrich und Wilhelm Girsberger die Familienunternehmen während mehr als 40 Jahren mit hohem Einsatz und Verantwortungsbewusstsein zu bedeutendem Erfolg geführt. Nach 16 Jahren Berufstätigkeit im Ausland, davon 14 Jahre für einen weltweit tätigen Industrie-Grosskonzern, übernimmt Michael Girsberger als CEO der Girsberger Holding AG die Leitung der Firmengruppe. Wilhelm und Heinrich Girsberger bleiben noch einige Jahre im Verwaltungsrat der Girsberger Holding AG.

Balzaro

Design: Kurt Müller

Erster Stuhl für Girsberger mit einem Gestell aus Edelstahl, Schale in Kernleder.

Die Produktsortimente Wohnen und Büro werden gestrafft. Mit neuer Zielsetzung entstehen die Geschäftsbereiche Home und Office. Zur profilierten Weiterentwicklung des Bereichs Home wird die Fertigung in der Schweiz vor allem in der Massivholzbearbeitung, im Metallbau und in der Oberflächenbearbeitung stark ausgebaut. Die auftragsbezogene Fertigung des Bereichs Office wird auf die Produktionsstandorte in Deutschland, in den USA und in der Türkei konzentriert. Trotz dieser organisatorischen Veränderungen, einschliesslich der grenzüberschreitenden Verlagerungen in Produktion und Logistik, gehen keine Arbeitsstellen verloren.

Neubau für Empfang, Ausstellung, Produktentwicklung und Verwaltung. Seither prägt dieses Gebäude den Firmenstandort in Bützberg. Im gleichen Jahr wird der Firmenauftritt unter der Marke «Girsberger seating» neu konzipiert.

Permesso

Design: Kurt Müller

Neuinterpretation der traditionellen Sitzbank zum Esstisch. Bemerkenswerte Reduktion und formale Schlichtheit.

Franz

Design: Kurt Müller

Neuartige Auszugstechnik, bei welcher erstmalig an einem Massivholztisch die Aussenfüsse vom Tischblatt weggezogen werden. Der Tisch lässt sich so bis zu einem Meter verlängern, dabei liegen die Verlängerungsplatten zur praktischen Bedienung direkt unter der Tischoberfläche.

Mit Girsberger Customized Solutions (heute Customized Furniture) entsteht der dritte Geschäftsbereich. Die hohe Fertigungstiefe im Unternehmen und die daraus resultierende Flexibilität erlauben es Girsberger, Sonderanfertigungen nach objektspezifischen Vorgaben von Architekten für Konferenz- und Schulungsräume sowie für Verpflegungs- und Aufenthaltsbereiche zu produzieren.

Aus dem Girsberger Kundendienst wird mit Service & Remanufacturing (heute Remanufacturing) der vierte Geschäftsbereich. Im Zentrum stehen wirtschaftliche und ökologische Aspekte: Bürostühle und Möbel sollen nicht mehr einfach entsorgt und ersetzt werden, sondern durch fachgerechten Service und vollständige Wiederinstandsetzung länger in Gebrauch bleiben.

Reflex

Design: Dieter Stierli

Die innovative international patentierte Lehne nutzt die Eigenschaften des Materials, um den Rücken punktgenau zu stützen und zu entlasten. Reflex und der dazugehörige Besucherstuhl Connexion finden ein grosses Publikum. Reflex erhält den Red Dot Design Award.

Die bestehenden Niederlassungen mit Ausstellungszentren in Wien, Paris, Amsterdam und London werden vom Architekten Dante Bonuccelli komplett neu gestaltet, mit Ausnahme von Paris an neuen Standorten mit grösseren Räumlichkeiten. In Madrid und Hamburg entstehen zusätzliche Girsberger Niederlassungen mit Ausstellungsräumen.

Der Geschäftsbereich Home wird in Girsberger Dining umbenannt. Der Name verdeutlicht die Konzentration des Sortiments auf den Essbereich im Haus. Die Dining Kollektion umfasst Tische, Stühle und Sideboards, die vorwiegend aus Massivholz hergestellt werden.

Modell 1600

Girsberger Werksdesign 1961

Neuauflage des Erfolgsmodells aus dem Jahr 1963.

Das Modell 1600 traf in den 60er Jahren den Zeitgeist und war sehr erfolgreich. Originale Exemplare dieses Sessels stehen beispielsweise noch immer im Bundesverfassungsgericht in Karlsruhe und werden heute als moderne Klassiker gehandelt.

 

Mit Girsberger Massivholz entsteht der fünfte Geschäftsbereich.
In Bützberg und in Koblenz bewirtschaftet Girsberger ein insgesamt
3500 Kubikmeter grosses Lager mit schonend getrocknetem Holz von Lärchen, Eichen, Ulmen, Nuss- und Kirschbäumen. Aus diesem Lager beliefert Girsberger Schreinereibetriebe mit qualitativ hochwertigen Massivhölzern aus ganz Europa.

Camiro

Design: Martin Ballendat

Girsberger lanciert eine neue Drehstuhlfamilie, die neuen Formen der Büroorganisation entgegenkommt. Camiro wurde speziell für flexible Arbeitsplätze entwickelt, wo mehrere Mitarbeiter den gleichen Stuhl benutzen. Deshalb verfügt der Funktionsdrehstuhl über eine automatische Federkrafteinstellung der Rückenlehne.

G 125

Design: Mathias Seiler

Zum 125. Jahrestag der Gründung des Unternehmens präsentiert Girsberger einen neuartigen Holzdrehstuhl. G 125 erinnert an die Firmenanfänge, als sich Girsberger mit höhenverstellbaren Pianohockern einen Ruf als Stuhlspezialist schuf. Beim Red Dot Award 2015 erhält G 125 die Auszeichnung Best of the Best.

Customized Furniture entwickelt sich immer mehr zu einem Geschäftsbereich mit hohem Potential. Dabei setzt Girsberger Entwürfe von Architekten und Planern nach deren individuellen Vorstellungen um. Daraus ergeben sich für Auftraggeber vielfältige Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten im Bereich des Corporate Branding und bei der Suche nach ganz speziellen technischen Lösungen oder bei der Realisierung ungewöhnlicher Formate.